The lives of companions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Is the love for the sake of Allah?

leave a comment »

Abu Idris al-Khawlani said:

I entered the mosque of Damascus, where I saw a young man who had a bright smile, and I saw the people gathered around him. When they disagreed on some matter, they referred it to him, and accepted his opinion. I asked who he was, and they told me, ‘This is Mu’adh Ibn Jabal  رضي الله عنه . ‘ Early the next day, I went to the mosque but I found that he had arrived earlier than me. He was praying, so I waited until he had finished, then I approached him from in front, greeted him and said, ‘By Allah, I love you.’ He asked,’ For the sake of Allah?’ I said,’ For the sake of Allah.’  He repeated the question,  ‘For the sake of Allah?’ And I said,’ For the sake of Allah.’ So he took hold of my collar, pulled me towards him and said, ‘I have good news for you. I heard the Prophet  صلى الله عليه وسلم  say:

“Allah says: ‘My love is granted to those who love one another for My sake, who visit one another for My sake, and who spend on one another for My sake.'”

[Muwatta Malik]

Written by unknown

October 23, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Posted in Mu'adh Ibn Jabal

Leave a Reply

