The lives of companions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Action of Sahaba after hearing Prophet’s advice

leave a comment »

Imam Ahmad recorded that Abu Sa`id (رضي الله عنه) said, “My mother sent me to the Messenger (صلى الله عليه وسلم) of Allah to ask him for help, but when I came by him I sat down. The Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) faced me and said to me,

«مَنِ اسْتَغْنَى أَغْنَاهُ اللهُ، وَمَنِ اسْتَعَفَّ أَعَفَّهُ اللهُ، وَمَنِ اسْتَكَفَّ كَفَاهُ اللهُ، وَمَنْ سَأَلَ وَلَهُ قِيمَةُ أُوقِيَّةٍ فَقَدْ أَلْحَف»

(Whoever felt satisfied, then Allah will enrich him. Whoever is modest, Allah will make him decent. Whoever is content, then Allah will suffice for him. Whoever asks people, while having a small amout, he will have begged the people.)

Abu Sa`id (رضي الله عنه) said, “I said to myself, `I have a camel, Al-Yaqutah, and indeed, it is worth more than a small amount.’ And I went back without asking the Prophet for anything.”

This is the same wording for this Hadith collected by Abu Dawud and An-Nasa’i.

Written by unknown

June 28, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Leave a Reply

