The lives of companions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The dream of `Abdullah bin Salam (رضي الله عنه)

with one comment

Imam Ahmad recorded that Qays bin `Abbad said, “I was in the Masjid when a man whose face showed signs of humbleness came and prayed two Rak`ahs that were modest in length. The people said, `This is a man from among the people of Paradise.’ When he left, I followed him until he entered his house, and I entered it after him and spoke with him. When he felt at ease, I said to him, `When you entered the Masjid, the people said such and such things.’ He said, `All praise is due to Allah! No one should say what he has no knowledge of. I will tell you why they said that. I saw a vision during the time of the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وسلم), and I narrated it to him. I saw that I was in a green garden, ‘ and he described the garden’s plants and spaciousness, `and there was an iron pole in the middle of the garden affixed in the earth and its tip reached the sky. On its tip, there was a handle, and I was told to ascend the pole. I said, `I cannot.’ Then a helper came and raised my robe from behind and said to me, `Ascend.’ I ascended until I grasped the handle and he said to me, `Hold on to the handle.’ I awoke from that dream with the handle in my hand. I went to the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وسلم) and told him about the vision and he said,

«أَمَّا الرَّوْضَةُ فَرَوْضَةُ الْإِسْلَامِ، وَأَمَّا الْعَمُودُ فَعَمُودُ الْإِسْلَامِ، وَأَمَّا الْعُرْوَةُ فَهِيَ الْعُرْوَةُ الْوُثْقَى، أَنْتَ عَلَى الْإِسْلَامِ حَتَّى تَمُوت»

(As for the garden, it represents Islam; as for the pole, it represents the pillar of Islam; and the handle represents the most trustworthy handhold. You shall remain Muslim until you die.)

This Companion was `Abdullah bin Salam (رضي الله عنه).”

This Hadith was also collected in the Two Sahihs; and Al-Bukhari also recorded it with another chain of narration.

Written by unknown

June 27, 2011 at 4:52 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Salamwalayykum, I’m looking for the story of Hadrath Abdullah bin Salam [ra] and his aversion to eat Camel meat. Where can I find it?

    The Lonely Traveler

    August 16, 2012 at 6:32 pm


Leave a comment