The lives of companions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The martyrdom of ‘Umair Ibn Abi Waqqas رضي الله عنه

leave a comment »

وأخرجه ابن سعد عن سعد رضي الله عنه قال: رأيت أخي عُمَير بن أبي وقاص قبل أن يعرضنا رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم يوم بدر يتوارى، فقلت: ما لك يا أخي؟ قال: إني أخاف أن يراني رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم فيستصغرني فيردّني، وأنا أحب الخروج لعلّ الله أن يرزقني الشهادة. قال: فعُرض على رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم فردَّه، فبكى فأجازه. فكان سعد رضي الله عنه يقول: فكنت أعقِد حَمائل سيفه من صِغره فقتل وهو ابن ست عشرة سنة. كذا في الإِصابة ، وأخرجه البزار، ورجاله ثقات؛ كما في المجمع

S’ad Ibn Abi Waqqas رضي الله عنه narrated, “I saw my brother, ‘Umair Ibn Abi Waqqas (رضي الله عنه ) hide himself before he was presented before Messenger of Allah صلى الله عليه وسلم on the occasion of battle of badr. I asked him, “O my brother! What has happened to you? ” He replied, “I fear that if the Messenger of Allah صلى الله عليه وسلم saw me, he would think of me to be too young and would disallow me (to go). But I love to go out (in the battle). May it be that Allah would grant me Shahadah.” But soon after that he was presented before the Messenger of Allah صلى الله عليه وسلم who disallowed him. He started to weep due to which he permitted him [to go out]. S’ad said, ” I tied the sword’s age. He was martyred at the age of sixteen years (only).”

Transmitted by Ibn Sa’d as given in al-Isabah vol 3 and also by Bazzar. Its narrators are reliable as given in al Majma’.

Written by unknown

November 30, 2010 at 2:58 am

Leave a Reply

