The lives of companions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

`Abdullah Ibn ‘Umar used not to sleep at night

leave a comment »

Narrated Ibn `Umar (radhya Allaahu ‘anhum):

If a man saw a dream during the lifetime of the Prophet (salla Allaahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) he would narrate it to the Prophet. Once I wished to see a dream and narrate it to the Prophet I was young, unmarried, and used to sleep in the Mosque during the lifetime of the Prophet. I dreamt that two angels took me and went away with me towards the (Hell) Fire which looked like a well with the inside walls built up, and had two side-walls like those of a well. There I saw some people in it whom I knew. I started saying: “I seek Refuge with Allah from the (Hell) Fire, I seek Refuge with Allah from the (Hell) Fire.” Then another angel met the other two and said to me: “Do not be afraid.”

I narrated my dream to Hafsa (radhya Allaahu ‘anha) who, in her turn, narrated it to the Prophet (salla Allaahu ‘alayhi wa sallam). He said: “What an excellent man ‘Abdullah is if he only observes the night prayer.”

Salem (a sub-narrator) said:

“Abdullah used not to sleep at night but very little hence forward.”

Hadith Bukhari
Volume 5 , Book 57 (Companions of the Prophet), Number 83:

Written by unknown

June 10, 2010 at 4:47 am

Leave a Reply

